At Heritage Christian School, located in North Liberty, Iowa, we exist to serve Christ by partnering with parents to provide biblically faithful, academically excellent education. Our vision is to be a leader in developing passionate lifelong learners committed to Christ.

## Heritage Christian School Board Meeting Minutes - Open

January 19th, 2023 Meeting

The meeting started at 6:00 pm. Greg Gilbaugh offered a devotion. All opened in prayer.

## Attendance:

Board Members: Chris Stoakes, Scott Kallemeyn, Mary Palmer, Tim Insko, Chad Hanneman, Steve Liu

Late: Unyime Ituk

## Staff: Joy Bartholomew, Nichole Early

December 2022 minutes to be approved at the next Board Meeting.

Head of School Report given by Greg Gilbaugh (see attached in executive minutes):

- TFT is slated to be fully implemented for the Fall of 2023.
- Letters of Intent go out to teachers on January 23rd, 2023 for the 2023-2024 school year.

A discussion was had regarding class sizes for the 2023-2024 school year:

- Tim Insko met with Brenda Wichhart.
- 4th grade will likely be two classes with an expected class size of thirty one.
- 197 students are expected to enroll for next year.

A Curriculum Committee Report was given by Mary Palmer (see attached).

Minutes Respectfully Submitted,

Chad R Hanneman

Committee Report (Curriculum/Faculty)

Jan 19, 2023

Curriculum Committee members PreK-3 grade:

The Board voted to approve the Into Reading textbooks at the last meeting.

Curriculum Committee members 4-8 grade:

- Sarah Franje / Rachel Super head
- Jonathan Langer, teacher
- Mary Palmer & Tim Insko, board members
- Association members have yet to be determined

The Curriculum Development Sub-Committee is continuing to review from a list of textbooks (two which have come from Christian publishers). They have not gotten through them all. They will continue to review these and come up with two or three options to be reviewed by the Curriculum Committee. The association members have not been selected yet. They will be asked when the Sub-Committee has selected two or three options.

## Mentoring/Induction members:

The staff that will be getting access to mentorship this year are:

- Mentee Mentor
- Caitlin Griess Rachel Super
- Emma Palmer Nichole Early
- Jonathan Langer Matt Ellerie
- Jenna Kurtzhals Jenn Van Otterloo

We will be reviewing the policy/process of the mentoring program. I requested more feedback from both the mentors and the mentees. I have heard from most of them. We will present any policy changes, hopefully at the next board meeting. Most of the feedback has been very positive.